Derating process

Status
Not open for further replies.
Occupation
Electrician
How do you derate? I'm not taking a test, I'm just curious. I'm an apprentice and we had to get 8 THHN #12's in a 1/2 flex and it led to a derating conversation. It was hard to follow. Derating using the NEC is hard to grasp without instructions.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Peeler, welcome to the forum! :)

Simply put, derating really means the conductors may need to be upsized, which may includes resizing theie conduit, to maintain the required circuit ampacity.

In your case, the #12's start out with a 30a rating per Table 310.16, and after the 70% adjustment, are still rated at 21a, so they can still be on 20a breakers.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
For derating you first need to determine how many of the conductors in the raceway are current carrying conductors (CCC's). {Look at 310.15(B)(4) for neutral conductors}. Saying that you 8 THHN conductors in a 1/2" flex is almost meaningless. You could have 8 CCC's or 4 CCC's or some other combination. So first you need to determine how many CCC's that you actually have. From there you'll need to find their ampacity from T310.16 (you may need to add in the temperature correction factors at the bottom ot T310.16) and then you can apply the provisions of T310.15(B)(2). I know it's complicated.

Welcome to the forum. :)

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
If I might add a bit to what Rob stated. Note that for derating, you can use the ampacity of the insulation such as the 90? column in 310.16 for THHN. You can then use the derived ampacity in accordance with 110.14 and 240.4.
Some folks think that they can use the 90? column only and want to use say #12 THHN at 30 amps without taking into account the limiting factors of those other sections.