Residential Estimating

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to the business side of electrical work. Is there a easy, fast way to estimate T & M on small jobs or residential jobs. The current job i'm estimating is a older home made of brick and plaster walls. it has a small basement. 1 st floor is around 600' with 6 rooms. 2 nd floor is around 800' with 7 rooms and the 3 floor is 25x25 attic could possibly be a bedroom. The meter is already in place it's a 400amp meter base with a 200 amp breaker. Almost all of the work will have to be wiremold because of the solid walls. Any help i will greatly appreciate. Thanks Phillip.

dmagyar

What's your experience?

What's your experience?

Phillip, make sure of your skill set with regards to the job at hand. Are you going to have the necessary tools ? If not are you adding some amount to each estimate or potential job so that you can aquire those tools.
I'm also curious what you'll need an estimate for if you're going to be doing this job on T&M basis?

That said, fast and easy aren't words what I would use to describe doing any estimate, especially one that it would seem you intent to make a living at. One truism to keep in mind for estimating is: "the bigest mistake gets the job".

Know what your costs are for both labor, overhead (profit) and materials are, extend those by the varied jobs you'll be doing to arrive at a cost. IE install wireway from panel to the bathroom; materials cost = $100, labor 10 hours @ XX, add in overhead + 10% total = Cost

Good luck.

masterinbama

Around here on remodel work I ask what their brother-in-law/ cousin has said it will cost and double it.(At least that's who and by how much I've been losing jobs for)