Ignorant questions from "quallified persons"

Status
Not open for further replies.

xformer

Occupation
Master Electrician
I have read many good replies to this OP. In my humble opinion, I am a student of the electrical industry and as the industry evolves, I will be required to learn more. I don't know everything nor will I ever. I am not the God of the electron. As an Instructor, or even a boss for that matter, one always wants people to know what they are doing. People can not really know what they are doing unless they ask questions. I have always had the mentality that I could learn something from everyone I worked with, or be refreshed on what not to do. If we want to see progress in our industry, we must allow the seemingly dumb questions to be asked.

Strife

Most people, even the "qualified ones" think in terms of Ohms laws. Very few know Kirshaw (damn I can't spell it right now, the one that says that sum of voltages in a a series circuit are 0, while the sum of ampacities in a parallel circuit are 0) law.
Most people think the EGC will somehow save them from electrocution, when in fact is only designed to trip the overload device. Again, looking at Kirschaw law would make it pretty self explanatory.

I would not include this among the ranks of "stupid questions." It is a good question, for anyone who has never come across the situation before, and who has not had a chance to think it through. I think a reasonable person could say that the N and G points are already connected together (i.e., at the service panel), so the two are electrically identical anyway. The reason that this reasonable person would be wrong in so saying is not an easy thing to come up with independently.