NEC 210.52 (C) (3) Peninsular Countertop Spaces

Status
Not open for further replies.

tgolden

I am an Electrical Safety Inspector with the City of Elyria, Ohio. The State of Ohio is still operating on the 2008 National Electric Code.
Recently, I performed a final electrical inspection on a new dwelling within our City. Within the kitchen area an extension of the counter was installed. (Peninsular) During that inspection, I discovered that the peninsular did not have any receptacle(s) installed pursuant to article 210.52 (C) (3). The peninsular meets all the requirements as listed in the article. It also has an overhang at the end of the peninsular and the backside of more than 12 inches. The front side overhangs about 2 inches.
After speaking with the electrician, he states that because there is no place on the peninsular or either on the side of the cabinet attached to the peninsular, he is not required to install a receptacle. He quotes the Exception as the reason why he is not required to install the peninsular receptacle. I stated that he is correct as outlined within the exception, he could not mount a receptacle due to the requirements within the exception, but he is still required to have at least one receptacle pursuant to article 210.52 (C) (3). He disagreed with me and stated that the exception allows him to disregard the receptacle if it can not be mounted on the side(s) of the cabinet under the peninsular.
Your comments would be helpful. Please reply to this post or PM me. Thank you.

Last edited by a moderator:

renosteinke

You're arguing with / red-tagging the wrong person, IMO.

Let AHJ's start making the counter designers eat the costs of redesigning their counters to be capable of meeting code requirements, and I think we'll see some changes in kitchen design. Until then, the sparky is in an impossible situation.

raider1

Staff member