Checking Old Wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
I had a prospective customer ask if I could check out the wiring in an old house they are trying to buy, maybe built in the 20's or thirties. Other than visually checking the wires that I can see or get to easily, what is the best way to check them. I know to check continuity and for open or shorts. I guess I need to know the condition of the insulation of the wires. I don't have a megger, which I know that's what you should use if you can. I'm just starting out and don't want to buy every tool available until I get established (more coming in than going out). Are there some tricks that any of you use without using a megger? Also, I did look at some meggers and saw all types of voltage ranges, brands, and especially prices. What is a good reliable one that is not in the mega-bucks price range? Also, what voltage range meter would I need to look at?

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
I don't believe you should do much more than just look at wiring in a house that is not owned by the customer. Any problems that could possibly show up later will be blamed on you. Even removing the device plates could come back to bite you. Tread lightly. Charge for your "look". You may make the potential buyer happy but you will PO of the seller.

I use Fluke 1507s. About $425

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
I don't believe you should do much more than just look at wiring in a house that is not owned by the customer. Any problems that could possibly show up later will be blamed on you. Even removing the device plates could come back to bite you. Tread lightly. Charge for your "look". You may make the potential buyer happy but you will PO of the seller.

I use Fluke 1507s. About $425

Thanks PtonSparky,