takeing over business/lic.

Status
Not open for further replies.

grayeagle

my father-inlaw has just past away. i am looking to transfer his lic. in my name. i have found out it can be done but who exactly have to do this with ? what could the cost be ? JA-SET a buseness consulting firm belives i can do this with out takeing the test for a year but want's 800.00. should i shop aroundor get a hold of california state lic. board a try myself. the info the better. thanx.

John120/240

The way that I understand your situation is that you would need your own

master electrican license. A lawyer would be a good investment to handle the legal

end, in order to make you the CEO of your father in law's company.

But I am no expert on such matters.

I agree with John, here you can not transfer an electrical lic. now a business lic. would be a different thing. You would be able to run his business, but the ability to pull permits, different ballgame!

kwired

Electron manager
As has been said legal help can get you in a CEO type position of the business but to be able to plan, design, layout, install electrical wiring or pull permits to do those things generally requires the proper license for what ever level of work you are going to do. These licenses are usually only granted to those with proper experience as well as passing an examination.

In Nebraska this is the closest thing to what you are looking for but it only allows you to finish projects that may already be in progress, you still eventually need to become a licensed contractor in order to continue contracting.

81-2119 Death of licensee; representative may carry on business; how long; insurance required.
[FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][FONT=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]