Feeder conductors

Status
Not open for further replies.

ammklq143

Occupation
Electrician
I am a new contractor and I'm bidding on a shed for a farmer. It's 6000 sq. ft. and he gave me a copy of a bid from another contractor (without pricing) to use so we bid the same materials. The other contractor has 400 ft. of 250mcm - 250mcm - 3/0 direct burial, which seems find, but then has 400 ft. of #6 green THHN Cu. Is it ok to bury the #6 THHN? Also, do I need to have an UFER ground and a ground rod?

Thank you all for sharing your wisdom with others.

raider1

Staff member
Welcome to the forum.:)

What size is the overcurrent protective device protecting the feeder?

What I am getting at is that if the ungrounded conductors are increased for voltage drop the equipment grounding conductor must also be upsize proportional to the increase of the ungrounded conductors. (See 250.122(B)) So the #6 THHN may not be big enough.

Also the shed will need a grounding electrode system in accordance with 250.32. If you have a UFER ground then you would not need a ground rod.

Chris

Last edited by a moderator:

ammklq143

Occupation
Electrician
Thanks Chris. The panel in the building will be a 200 amp panel and the conductors are 250mcm alum to allow for voltage drop. Would the #6 THHN be too small? Also, can that be direct buried?

Am I required to have a protective device at the transformer pole also?

This leads me to another thing I don't quite understand. 250.66 shows the size of the grounding electrode conductor to be 4 copper or 2 aluminum, but 250.66(A) says "shall not be required to be larger than 6 AWG copper or 4 AWG aluminum". Why does it say it needs to be 4 copper, but then says it shall not be required to be larger than 6 copper?

Thanks again

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
people bury copper wire with no insulation at all. why would you not be able to bury an insulated one?