T/R receptacles

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teaspoon

Have you had many complaints about difficulty plugging into new T/R receptacles?
I had one customer call the other day,asking about taking out T/R and replaceing with standard receptacles.
We wired this house about a year ago. I explained that I could not legally replace the T/R,receptacles with non T/R receptacles.
This customer understood,but was not happy.I am sure he will probably get some ,
handyman or unliscensed person to make this change.

bphgravity

As an inspector, I occasionally have trouble plugging my tester into TR receptacles. It is annoying and inconvenient.

That being said, you made the correct decision to NOT replace the compliant devices with non-compliant devices. It is unfortunate that someone else will likely perform that work for the homeowner, but there is nothing anyone can do about that.

bphgravity

I believe the CMP and CPSC investigated the plug insertion force for TR receptacles due to the concern of elderly and disabled users. I also believe this is a component of the product listing. Check out the ROP/ROC data.

I guess this is a case were the potential life safety benefits of a product outweighed the certain decrease in "user-friendliness" of the product.

sgunsel

Some new non-tamper resistant plugs can be pretty tight the first several usages. Fortunately they loosen up after a bit.

jeremysterling

Yeah, I demo'd one the other day. Customer complained it was a "dummy plug" and needed power.

It was TR simplex 5-20R. For a crisper fridge in a commercial kitchen. The recept was located behind the fryer on the cook line. Even with a thick coating of grease, it was difficult to plug the cord into.:roll:

GUNNING

instructions

instructions