Arc flash PPE: Is it legal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtfallsmikey

My higher-ups are upset, demanding we purchase arc flash PPE without doing an arc flash survey, without specifying the correct category clothing, no HV gloves. Is it legal?

cornbread

Its kind of like speeding...its legal until you get pulled over.

With out the ARC study you are playing craps. If some on gets hurts and the investigation find the clothing was not properly rated, who cares about the fines the real issue is the person that is hurt.

mtfallsmikey

As a Building Engineer, what live equipment do you interact with?

What approach boundaries do you cross?

MCC's, motors, switchgear, 480/277 panelboards, emergency lighting, busway fuse plugs, self-contained A.C. units w/VFD's...

How did you know what I do for a living? Is it that obvious? Or is it that I'm also a licensed plumber?...

At the old job, hot work on live PDU's, etc. was a way of life, been in a suit many times.

wtucker

Is it legal?

Is it legal?

No. OSHA regs, Title 29, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 1910.132:

The employer has to certify that he's done a hazard assessment, select the appropriate personal protective equipment, ensure that it fits properly, mandate its use, communicate that to employees and train them in all that, and pay for most of it (read the standard for exceptions http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show_document?p_table=STANDARDS&p_id=9777)

Oh, and falsely certifying a document required by OSHA is a criminal offense under the Occupational Safety and Health Act that carries a $10,000 fine.

knoppdude

My higher-ups are upset, demanding we purchase arc flash PPE without doing an arc flash survey, without specifying the correct category clothing, no HV gloves. Is it legal?
Hi mtfallsmikey,