Out door hot tub install

Status
Not open for further replies.

Electron_Sam78

Ok I've never done a hot tub before so someone correct me or add to this if necessary. I'll give the details of the install and what I've learned from reading the code book and some forum posts on the subject
The unit is a self contained hot tub with a non-conductive shell installed outdoors on a 4 foot high elevated deck of a single-family dwelling.

Applicable codes from 2011 NEC (paraphrased):

• 680.12 Maintenance D/C means 5 ft horizontally from wall of tub.
  • 680.22(A)(1) Receptacle for tub must be 10 ft away from tub or 6 ft if all the following are met:
    • single receptacles (no duplex)
    • locking type (twist lock)
    • grounding type
    • GFCI protected
  • 680.22(A)(2) other receptacles (not for tub) located not less than 6 ft from tub
  • 680.26 All metal fittings and equipment must be bonded using #8 solid copper. Fitting less than 4" in any dimension and not pentrating pool more than 1" are exempt from bonding. Pool water must be bonded.
  • 680.44 GFCI protection required for tub equipment power supply.

Last edited:

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
The disconnecting means needs to be a minimum of 5' from the tub and up to 50' if within sight.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Haven't done too many hot tubs where they are cord and plug but art. 680.22 does not, IMO apply to hot tubs. Most are direct wired but those that have a plug come with a standard GFCI cord cap so a standard recep. is required.

Electron_Sam78

Read art. 680.42(A)(2)-- It says nothing about single recep. or twist lock. Everyone I have seen has been a standard receptacle -- the tub comes with a gfci cord cap.