Commercial bid question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ammklq143

Occupation
Electrician
I am a new contractor and would like to get into some small commercial projects to until I can employ more people and take on larger projects. I'm not sure how to get into the market though. Any tips or ideas. Is there some way to be notified or to find out when there is a company looking for bids for a new project?

lowryder88h

Bids

Bids

In the Massachusetts area we use the Dodge Report and Reed's Report. I would assume there are the same type reports in your area. Talk to another contractor.

Solicite. Open the phone book and look for GC's, call them and ask to be put on their "bid list". Here in CA, we use Bidmail and FTP sites to download drawings. Bid invites are sent from the GC and we go from there.

Solicite. Open the phone book or search online for contractors in your area. Pick up the phone and call them asking for you to be put on their bid list. We get bid invites from the GC's. Here in CA, we use Bidmail or an FTP site to download drawings, then move forward from there. Good luck!

tyha

You say your a new contractor. What did you do before. Commercial Electrical contracting usually requires experience. Were you just a mechanic and decided you could become a contractor?

Chamuit

Grumpy Old Man
Occupation
Electrician
You say your a new contractor. What did you do before. Commercial Electrical contracting usually requires experience. Were you just a mechanic and decided you could become a contractor?

Snarky.

tyha

Really?? Considering the statement I really dont think so... I have been doing this a long time and have come from the absolute bottom to where Im at and Ive yet to know anyone that just "tries" out commercial projects without having some exp as to where to find them. a little background from the OP may have helped.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer