Being an Apprentice and Business Owner = Conflict of Interest for Potential Employer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

istac

I'd appreciate any insight on this situation. This is as short as I can make it:

I am a residential trainee in Washington state. Green, but with a solid background in general construction. My long-time friend, who is a licensed journeyman, and I decided to go into business together. He is from NY, I am from Washington, and the business operates in Washington. We formed an LLC, of which I am a partner. My friend was looking to relocate to Seattle for a few years and take advantage of the better market. I was in the business to work toward my license, and learn the trade.

Now, its looking like my friend wants to be primarily based in NY. In turn, I am looking for a more normal/stable work situation. So I contacted a company. Based on my resume, they were eager to have me come down and try out for a few days. But, I got a call back later saying that had found out that I was a partner/co-owner of a contracting company, and rescinded the offer. The only way he would hire me is if I closed the LLC. Not a decision to be made lightly.

The explanation the potential employer offered was that I have a conflict of interest. The notion caught me off-guard, but after some thought, I saw his point. He also told me that going forward, I would have the same problem when applying to other companies/contractors.

I'd like to get some perspectives on this, whether or not this guy is right. I'm 31- just finished my undergrad degree. After 500hrs of residential work, I've decided that this is the path I want to pursue. I'm really looking forward to getting things together in my working life and didn't expect this type of obstacle. I just want to work :)

Fulthrotl

~Autocorrect is My Worst Enema.~
I'd appreciate any insight on this situation. This is as short as I can make it: