Add a lug - live or dead...

Status
Not open for further replies.

hillbilly1

Occupation
Owner/electrical contractor
Alright, define the LAW.... And legality... This is a highrise building, not exactly the easiest thing to shut off without debate about the safety involved in just doing that.... But it can be done with a near act of congress - which for those who know me, I fear not... But that leaves the whole bulding on the dark, where i need to work, and possibly a neighborhood off.... Shutting off the feeder, not a big deal - this is residential, the inconvenience of these people by making them reset their clock.... I could care less about that.... It is the 'act of' shutting off the feeder. THAT is what I find worrisome. The phrase, "not with a ten foot pole" comes to mind... Get it? Or should I bother worrying about that?

Chicken switch comes to mind.

zog

Let's put aside the legal debate threadjack please. I'm a manager at a company, but often looks at situations as if "I had to do it", because in some situations I will... I look at assigning no one to something I won't do myself.I'm not sure why, but I feel more apprehensive about that switch, than I do about adding the lugs live. As crazy as that sounds.... Let's stick to the calculation of risk assessment aspect.Is it unfounded? Or, more risky to shut it off, than just doing the work hot?

Yes, lets stick to the risk assesment. You have yet to mention what the incident energy is for this switch, and if you don't know that how can you possibly wear the right PPE to protect you even if you could justify doing this live?? You mentioned an engineer was calculating the AIC, which is not somehting you calculate and shows a gross misunderstanding of what you are getting yourself into here.

And, as mentioned already, these switches have very high failure rates when not maintained even for a few years, let alone as long as this one has been neglected.