hot work

Status
Not open for further replies.
Let me start by saying I am a california state certified electrician. I was sent yesterday to a site that had A and B phase bus bars burned up from the test block to the meter inside the switch gear. The meter had also blown a hole through the top of it. This fed a panel for pole lights through out a shopping center. My boss wanted me to open it up, open the shorting nuts, and then using other bus bars, piece something together to "bypass" the meter section so the site will atleast have lights untill we can get the meter assembly needed to make it right. When San Diego Gas & Elect. showed up to cut the meter lock, the guy said no way and called for back up so they could disconnect it from the transformer, before even getting close to the gear! My boss was MAD. I told him I was glad, cause I didn't want to do it "hot". He then proceeded to tell me that my certification by the state says that I am qualified to do such work and I have the PPE stocked on my truck. I knew I had the PPE, but was still very uncomfortable with the situation, and wasn't going to do it, even if it costed me my job. My wife and I are having our second child in less then 3 weeks, and I'd rather them have a dad with no job, then no dad at all. So after all that, my question is this- does my state certification mean that i am qualified, and authorized to just open up switch gear and start working on energized gear with the proper PPE? I also stated to my boss that if I'm expected to perform such work, he needs to provide me with hot work tools, a rubber blanket to stand on, and a 2nd person to be present. I've been trying to find any info from cal/osha, and anywhere else, but haven't found anything specific on hot work yet.
thanks,
forever working safe,
John
P.S.- Thanks to SDG&E for showing up, and having their safe working pratices!