Bonding inground swimming pools.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a resident in an over 55 community. I am also a former/retired Wire Inspector. Which means I have a habit of looking at wiring that may have safety violations. Well I found several bonding maintenance issues at our community pool. The bond wire comeing from the pool area to the pool pump and equipment area is deteriorated to less than 1/3 of its normal #8ga. size and is not connected to the filter motor or anything else. I got an estimate on 11/9/2011 from the pool company that maintains our pool. The Treasurer has fought me tooth and nail on the subject of safety vs. dollars and cents. He has the pool maintenance company saying that bonding is not that important. Guess who pays them and approves their contract. I have tried to convince the board on the seriousness of the lack of bonding to no avail. How can I steer them in the right direction for safety's sake?
I don't want to alert the wire inspector because if he is like me he will shut the pool down!:cool:

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
I am a resident in an over 55 community. I am also a former/retired Wire Inspector. Which means I have a habit of looking at wiring that may have safety violations. Well I found several bonding maintenance issues at our community pool. The bond wire comeing from the pool area to the pool pump and equipment area is deteriorated to less than 1/3 of its normal #8ga. size and is not connected to the filter motor or anything else. I got an estimate on 11/9/2011 from the pool company that maintains our pool. The Treasurer has fought me tooth and nail on the subject of safety vs. dollars and cents. He has the pool maintenance company saying that bonding is not that important. Guess who pays them and approves their contract. I have tried to convince the board on the seriousness of the lack of bonding to no avail. How can I steer them in the right direction for safety's sake?