Need MI Cable

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkgrady

I'm bidding a hospital boiler room retrofit job. The only thing unusual in it for me is a requirement for MI cable.

I need to find a quote for about a 50 foot run of MI cable to go from an existing MDP to a new 45 KVA dry transformer. The run is 3 #4 copper and a #8 ground ( I thought the ground was the jacket). I also need to find a quote for the terminations or have them factory installed. I don't have any experience with MI cable but I have extensive experience in installing MV cable, including hand tape, so I figure I can figure out how to terminate it. I can't seem to find a supplier that sells the cable or the terminations. Anybody have a source for this?

iwire

Staff member
I am sure your supplier can get it. I also think that Iwire (Bob) has worked with this stuff.

I have helped pull some big MI and I have terminated small MI (10/4)

The terminations came as a kit with all the parts and great instructions.

I know for the bigger stuff we had a power tool that would peel off the copper jacket.

I have never had to purchase it or the terminations so I am no help on that part.

iwire

Staff member
Here are some pics of MI for those that have not seen it. I took these pictures but it is not my work. This work was done by IBEW 103 guys and it was quite a lot of work installing this in a large existing hospital.

MICableLahey019.jpg

MICableLahey012.jpg

MICableLahey008.jpg

MICableLahey006.jpg

MICableLahey004.jpg

MICableLahey009.jpg

cdslotz

That looks good. It also looks expensive.
Where in a hospital is MI required?
I've seen it for special industrial installs, and have used it on fire pumps.

Twoskinsoneman

Occupation
Facility Senior Electrician
and a #8 ground ( I thought the ground was the jacket)

I'm really no help but thought I would post this about the EGC...

332.108 Equipment Grounding Conductor. Where the
outer sheath is made of copper, it shall provide an adequate