Why is residential wiring known as single phase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ronaldrc

Here we go again, trying to apply electronics to prove this point again.

I said this 5 years ago and I'll say it again it is the people with a strong education in electronics causing this
confusion about single Phase power being two phase. This was never a problem before the internet became
popular and Electronic techs. and Electricians started talking together about it.

I studied Electronics also 40 plus years ago. I have for gotten most of it.

But I do remember studying phase inverters for Class C or push pull Amplifiers.

And if you Techs are honest enough and are willing to eat some crow you would admit that the so called
Phase inverter rather it be a transformer with a center tap or amplifier element such as a triode vacuum tube
or a transistor, it does no more than invert the input signal or reverses its polarity.

The output of the so called phase inverter in a audio amplifier does not shift the phase it reverses the polarity.
There is no phase shift it is inverted.

I realize you where and are being taught this.But it is a polarity inverter ,but please give it some serious thought.

And have enough nerve to admit single phase is just that ?single phase?. :)

I need to make a correction in this sentence above,I realize you where and are being taught it is a phase inverter .

Well it is a Phase inverter, but I think most who read that think they are implying it is shifting the phase in time by
180 degrees, but they are teaching it inverts the polarity.

Think about it, if it shifted 180 degrees the Audio coming from the speakers would sound like garble.

Rick Christopherson

You mean the voltages change their phase relationships from one end of the wire to the other??
In the words of that choleric tennis player from a few years ago, "You cannot be.....etc..."