Motor whistling...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rock Crusher

What would make a motor whistle? or is it possibly the equipment it is hooked up to run?
It's a single phase motor, 120v, 3/4 hp, 1400 rpm. The diagram was followed as to how to connect it. It is for a commercial range hood exhaust and was installed yesterday. Friend of mine wanted me to look at it, but since I don't know a whole lot about motors, all I did was verify the connections.
Thank you

T

T.M.Haja Sahib

My guess is the whistling comes from the exhaust hood.......

Rock Crusher

That was my thought, but since I'm an electrician, not a hood guy, I thought I'd post it to you guys.

And just to clarify the wiring diagram.
L1 Hot - one wire only attached per the diagram
L2 Neutral - two wires per the diagram
All others tied together - showed all others tied together.

Last edited:

growler

What would make a motor whistle? or is it possibly the equipment it is hooked up to run? It is for a commercial range hood exhaust and was installed yesterday.

A high pitched noise can be caused by friction. A bad bearing or to much tension on a drive belt.

You have to see what the noise is and then see what could cause it. It normally would have nothing to do with the electrical hook up but things like belt tension would cause a problem.

Some electricians that I know burned up some window exhaust fans by really tightening the drive belts.

Strife

Agree.
Belt too tight, or bad bearing/s.
That's if it whistle all the times.
If it whistle at start up only, it could be the speed of the motor can't match the force against the belt right away.
I've had an AC that would whistle at start up. The problem was the motor was strong enough to go full speed on, so the belt skipped a few turns before it engaged the fan at full speed.

A high pitched noise can be caused by friction. A bad bearing or to much tension on a drive belt.