Getting my business on its feet....

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm up and running part time with my business. I have no experience with estimating or the office side of things. Would like to learn how to properly estimate jobs and have the correct contracts in writing to cover me. Also I have herd of other contractors sending bids out to get better pricing or to just sub out work. If I am asked to do a bid on a project and I do not wish to do it, how can I send it out for other electrical contractors to bid on without them steeling it from me. If they do give me a bid and I feel I can profit how can I protect myself if something goes wrong. I have 16 years in the field mostly commercial and industrial and 0 years in the office. Thanks for reading any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you phillip Walters.

cdslotz

If I am asked to do a bid on a project and I do not wish to do it, how can I send it out for other electrical contractors to bid on without them steeling it from me. If they do give me a bid and I feel I can profit how can I protect myself if something goes wrong.

Don't bid jobs you don't want. I have never sent a bid request to another EC to sub out. I would have been laughed out of town. Other EC's ARE YOUR COMPETITION!
Besides, you would never be competitive enough by the time you add your markup on top of his markup.
If for some reason you were awarded a job using this method, you don't even know what your cost is. When your EC sub bails on you, you are the one left holding the bag (contract).

I went into business right after I passed my Masters. Like you, I had zero experience in estimating and management. I lasted less than a year. I went to work for another EC in the office and learned these skills, and today, 34 years later, I'm still learning.
Sorry to break this to you, there are NO shortcuts to estimating. Your risk is too high

teco

My 2 cents

My 2 cents