Bending a 90 degree "backwards"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

frequency

Occupation
Electrician by trade / EC
Hello all,

I'm new at posting messages. This forum has been very informative and humbling.

My Question: I'm still learning how to make bends using one length of raceway but I was asked a question from the lead journeyman while bending 3/4" EMT. He said,"do you know how to bend a 90 backwards?" I could not answer him. I wanted to say using "star" but i'm not certain. Please help. All responses are greatly appreciated. Thank you all for your time.

frequency

Occupation
Electrician by trade / EC
Same here, I never heard of that, either.
I said what do mean?
He claims that if you had a 90 @ 8'(measuring left to right) so rather then bend most of the pipe, you would deduct for 90, 3/4" emt = 6" then divide by 2= 3". This would be 93 inches? use arrow and bend. I might not be explaining this correctly and hope this makes sense. Thanks for the link, Edward!

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
I said what do mean?
He claims that if you had a 90 @ 8'(measuring left to right) so rather then bend most of the pipe, you would deduct for 90, 3/4" emt = 6" then divide by 2= 3". This would be 93 inches? use arrow and bend. I might not be explaining this correctly and hope this makes sense. Thanks for the link, Edward!

Yup, just add 1/2 of the standard deduction for that bender and bend the other way. Comes in very handy when you need to make a long elbow or a back to back bend.

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Consulting Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
My first impulse was that it was a hazing question, like "go get me a left handed crescent wrench". :D

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
I said what do mean?

What your journeyman is saying is bend the short stub rather than bend the long end up, especially if overhead room is a problem.

Smart $

Esteemed Member