Wood shop in residential basement

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gac66610

It's a somewhat of a smaller room, 15'X30' approx, 9' ceilings

HO is planning to use it as a wood working area, with saws and sanders, stain and lacquer

Would anyone feel safe about the electrical panels in this room?

I for one do not, the only other place would be in the furnace room adjacent to the wood shop, but,
will not meet clearances (water heaters on one side electric furnace on the other)

there are no inspections, as this is in the county, so I have to make the "lesser of 2 evils" call

what do you believe is the best choice?:?

templdl

Being a woodworker myself as know others if dust was an issue then he has a big time dust control issue. One of the goals of a woodwork is dust control.
The same with finishing materials an vapors. I would be extremely concerned with open flames for a gas furnace, water heater, cloths drier, etc.
Should finishing vapors be of a level to be that dangerous around electrical equipment then he shouldn't be in that environment.
The there are all of those portable electric tools with universal brush type motors that obviously would be of concern should there be an explosive atmosphere present.

Gac66610

Those are my main concerns, dust and vapors, how much I don't know, but he is having dust tight doors leading to the house

with that now my issue is clearance for the 2 - 200a MB panels in the furnace room

thought about staking them, just not sure how close to the floor would be too close with the water heaters less than 18" away

thanks for the replies

Rick Christopherson

HO is planning to use it as a wood working area, with saws and sanders, stain and lacquer

Would anyone feel safe about the electrical panels in this room?