I-Line breaker question

Status
Not open for further replies.

growler

Any I-Line experts out there. I'm in an area for a short time where parts are kind of hard to get and I'm needing to know if there is a down side to useing an I-Line breaker that's rated for 600V in a panel that rated at 240. I assume they will fit but I may even be wrong about that. It's a J frame and the panel will accept a J-frame. Any opinions welcome, I googled an articles that has me concerned but wanted to ask the experts.​

steve66

Occupation
Engineer
I'm not an Iline expert, but I think all the J frame breakers are rated for 600V.

I think all the Iline panels are also rated for 600 volts.

So as long as your Iline accepts J frame breakers, I can't imagine it won't fit.

But I do see note in the catalog for a type HCN Iline - it says

"225A max (240V max) branch circuit breaker QB, QD, QG, QJ. 150A max branch circuit breaker FA, FH....." But that type of Iline won't even accept a J frame breaker.

Hopefully you will get confirmation from someone else.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
I-Line panels are rated based on the breakers you install in them.

Only use 600V breakers, and you will have a 600V panel. Install at least (1) 10kAIC breaker then you panel has a maximum SCCR of 10kA.

The only limiting feature is the construction of the panel being able to accomodate the breaker you are trying to install.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
I-Line panels are rated based on the breakers you install in them.

Only use 600V breakers, and you will have a 600V panel. Install at least (1) 10kAIC breaker then you panel has a maximum SCCR of 10kA.

The only limiting feature is the construction of the panel being able to accomodate the breaker you are trying to install.

And that an I-Line panel is not rated for use on 240/120V 3 phase 4 wire sytems.

kwired

Electron manager