PV system with delta-wye xfmr and no neutral

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pharon

I'm currently reviewing a PV design that has PV arrays connected to a 300kW inverter, which then goes to a 300kVA delta-wye 480-480/277V transformer, which then connects to the main distribution panel (MDP) via a 600AF/450AT fused disconnect. I'm sure this is a typical set up, but the wye transformer secondary does not bring out a neutral conductor to tie into the MDP.

I'm new to PV design, and am trying to fully understand the implications of this. My thought would be to run the neutral back to the MDP, where it is bonded to the grounding conductor, but I've been told that when running a neutral like this, inverters sometimes needlessly drop off-line due to phase-neutral voltage imbalances that aren?t present phase-phase.

But I've never seen a design with a wye transformer secondary floating like this. In most cases, the x0 would be bonded to ground right at the transformer, but this is not possible because in a parallel source arrangement like this, the neutral-ground connection can still only occur once, which in this case is at the MDP.

Does the NEC allow a transformer wye secondary to be both unbonded and ungrounded? Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Smart $

Esteemed Member

Does the NEC allow a transformer wye secondary to be both unbonded and ungrounded? Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
Not a PV expert myself, but from what I can discern, with the secondary connected to a grounded 480/277 service supplied MDP, the transformer secondary is grounded through the service. Floating the X0 connection is not a problem as long as it is not used to power any loads. However, the 480 delta side of the transformer appears to be ungrounded. AFICT, that side is required to have a ground detector [250.21(B)]

Last edited:

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer