Status
Not open for further replies.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
This was pm'ed to me by Remitts who works at a school

Remitts said:
I'm Having an issue with my primary voltage is 500v on a 480v system, talked to the power company and they said it was because I was less than a mile from a substation. any recommendations on how to lower the voltage. I work in a school and I have seen that we have been replacing flat screen monitors alot in the last few months.

iwire

Staff member
The stepdown transformers feeding the 120/208 volt loads usually have adjustable input taps, so they could be adjusted for the higher input voltage.

For sure and I would point out that 500 is not really that high.

ANSIC841.jpg

hillbilly1

Occupation
Owner/electrical contractor
I wonder if he may have a bonding issue on the LV transformer, if XO is not bonded and left "floating", and there is fault with one of the phases to ground, it could cause some issues. I would check all phases to ground and neutral for any abnormalities.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I am curious as to what the monitor voltage is? If those are 120V monitors then the 480V is not the issue. Is there 2 services feeding the building or just 480V with step down tranies.

hillbilly1

Occupation
I am curious as to what the monitor voltage is? If those are 120V monitors then the 480V is not the issue. Is there 2 services feeding the building or just 480V with step down tranies.

Usually(but not always), there is a customer owned step down transformer for the 120 volt loads, if the incoming voltage is high, the transformer output voltage will proportionally be high also. But as Bob wrote, that's not really that high, that's why I have a suspicion that the step down transformer is not properly bonded.

iwire

Staff member
if XO is not bonded and left "floating", and there is fault with one of the phases to ground, it could cause some issues.