Open Delta used on Y spec equipment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sparkyrob

I ran into an interesting install today, and wasn't sure what to think. I'm not a transformer expert, and I've learned a lot on this forum so I think I'm in the right place.

Building has 120/208 service coming in and is running some equipment using a step up 120/208 Y-480 Delta xformer. They added a new piece of equipment a while back ( I think he said about a year and a half) that was from Italy, and it required 440 Y. The EC that did it used two single transformers and looks to me to be feeding this equipment with an Open Delta configuration. The issue is that the main control transformer INSIDE the equipment cabinet burned up. The equipment is protected with a fused disconnect, and those fuses are good. Equipment doesn't require neutral, and original EC ran proper sized EGC. I've always matched my transformers to the equipment, so I couldn't say with certainty if this install was the culprit, or they just had a bad control transformer. Thanks for your input.

templdl

I ran into an interesting install today, and wasn't sure what to think. I'm not a transformer expert, and I've learned a lot on this forum so I think I'm in the right place.