first arc flash study

Status
Not open for further replies.

malachi constant

Hi all,

I'm an engineer about to submit a quote for my first (kind of) arc flash study. (Ten years ago when I was a few years out of school I entered the SKM data in a study for another engineer, so it's not a completely foreign endeavor for me.) I know SKM fairly well having used it for ten years to do fault calcs. I've been reading some good articles on EC&M and browsing the comments here, I think I have a pretty good idea of what needs to be done - a "humble but confident" attitude. I'm also about to purchase the IEEE-sponsored book on ARC Flash Hazard Analysis and Mitigation to help fill in any knowledge gaps once I get going.

The study is commissioned by a local school district that wants arc flash calculations done for service switchgear only on each school in the district - a little over a dozen buildings. We (or the district) will hire a contractor to do the field investigation. I'm trying to figure out our engineering fees for this (not the contractor fees). I figure I will need to:
1. Collect or set up drawings to identify each building's service and transformer locations.
2. Visit each site, however briefly, to see each service with my own eyes and look for any red flags. (Contractor will be collecting most of the data on their own without me looking over their shoulder.)
3. Coordinate with utilities to get fault and impedance data. (I believe there are two utilities that serve this district.)
4. For each building: set up the SKM files, create simplified one-lines, run short circuit studies, run multiple-scenario arc flash studies, read through data, etc etc etc
5. Write report, make recommendations, print labels, etc.
6. A couple misc meetings.