Residential 200 Meter/Main and Panel options (CH-CH vs SqD-QO)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Flux

Hello all, I am new to the forum and new to electrical contracting just received my unrestricted license :blink:. I have been an electrician for 15 years now commercial mainly and I am used to everything being engineered and speced in a print so this will probably not be the first question I pose to the forum.
This is my first residential new service and panel swap on my own and I am trying to decide which brand of equipment to use. I am in Atlanta so I have access to it all though the supply houses I am familiar with have primarily Cutler Hammer residential equipment in limited supply.
I know this thread has been posted in the past but as manufacturers update and re-engineer almost constantly I thought a updated thread couldn't hurt.
Coming from the commercial/industrial side I have to say I like solid gear.
I am leaning towards Cutler Hammer as the have a meter/main combo Model # CMBER88B200BTS CH type copper bus 22,000 IR as where Square D only has them in the Homeline variety aluminum bus 22,000 IR.
I don't want to mix and match but the Square D QO breakers seem to be the best as far as quick trip and longevity and have the pretty orange trip window. Cutler Hammer seems to have a bit of a checked past but most of you seasoned guys use it exclusively hands down in residential apps. I would like to hear a update on Cutler Hammer for those guys that have been using them exclusively in homes how is there current track record with you? How about the arc fault and GFCI breakers and nuisance tripping vs Square D QO?
Thanks and thanks for all your past post I have read them all on this subject. :thumbsup:

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor