Purpose of the neutral

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skubie

Hi all,
I'm a mechanical engineer and I'm getting involved in general construction, including power up to 3ph 480V, 1600A. No worries, I have guys who don't use their fingers as circuit testers - I let the designers and electricians decide how it gets done and let the inspectors make sure it's done right. But I've got a question that none of the IBEW guys have given a satisfying answer to: What is the neutral wire for in a circuit? Why do some circuits get by without a neutral? Why MUST others have a neutral? What happens when you bond a neutral? Why do you sometimes have a neutral AND a ground?
Thanks for any help. I absove you in advance for any disparaging comments about ME's.

Gregg Harris

Occupation
Electrical,HVAC, Technical Trainer
Hi all,
I'm a mechanical engineer and I'm getting involved in general construction, including power up to 3ph 480V, 1600A. No worries, I have guys who don't use their fingers as circuit testers - I let the designers and electricians decide how it gets done and let the inspectors make sure it's done right. But I've got a question that none of the IBEW guys have given a satisfying answer to: What is the neutral wire for in a circuit? Why do some circuits get by without a neutral? Why MUST others have a neutral? What happens when you bond a neutral? Why do you sometimes have a neutral AND a ground?
Thanks for any help. I absove you in advance for any disparaging comments about ME's.

Depending on what type of end use is required will determine whether or not a neutral is required. in a residential application or commercial / industrial where the load is 120 volts a neutral is required to return the current to is source. Three phase systems if not serving 120 volt loads will not require a neutral such as a roof top unit.
An electrical circuit containing one hot conductor and a neutral does not require a third "ground" conductor to "function".