What to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Electrogrunt

Hi all. I have been working in the electrical field for just over twenty years now, started in my late 20's, and was in good shape for most of it. I started in construction, and now work as a maintenance electrician. My problem is that my body is starting to break down, osteoarthritis, pinched nerves, etc. I don't think I can stay in the working side of this business for more than 5 years tops. I have been looking into the inspection side of our trade, and while things are slow now, they are expected to pick up over the next few years in my area. Does anyone have advice on how to break into the electrical inspection field? Thanks

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
One suggestion would be to see what certifications the inspectors in your area are required to have (here it is IAEI certifications) and work toward obtaining those. Having them will give you a step up when job openings do appear.

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
Take the ICC certifications exams. They are very easy. Sign up with IAEI and come to our local chapter meetings you will get to know and network with inspectors and other non inspector members.

Remember "it is not what you know or even who you know it is all about who knows you". So the more you mingle and network with people related to the electrical trade the more chance you have getting a position other than the physical part of the trade.

Good luck.

jwelectric

I read this and meditated about how it related to my life?s choices. I teach the Standard Electrical Inspector classes that are mandated by NC at our local community college. I have noticed that over the past couple of years I have had many snow topped electricians that would take the class. They also were thinking of changing their field of work.