Is There a Generator Load Shedding Panel That Is Not Also a Transfer Switch?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom Jones

Hi all, thanks for the forum. I have been coming here for many years but never had occasion to post. It seems that whenever I have a question, a Google search always turns up the answer somewhere in this forum where it has already been solved for me so I never needed to sign up. On to my question: A couple of years ago I installed a GE "Symphony" small standby genset (really Briggs & Stratton) and transfer panel that were a "matched set" if you will. The transfer panel is simply a main and a generator breaker along with the usual circuitry, but additionally it has two current transformers that go over the generator power leads and it will open certain contacts in the panel if the generator load exceeds a certain level. I thought this was a great new feature. Fast forward to today, I am looking at a different installation that has a main panel, manual transfer switch, and subpanel already installed, and in the interest of saving cost, I would like to not have to replace the entire transfer switch. I was hoping somebody makes a box that can simply shed loads from the generator; in this case it would be the HWH, heat pump, and maybe one or two others, and reconnect them when the additional load is reduced automatically like the GE/B&S unit above does. Does anybody make such an animal? If not, would you have any recommendations about a transfer switch that includes it, with the understanding that the generator is going to be manually started, so that the transfer switch can get along with that as well? (i.e. doesn't rely on the generator starting immediately in case of main power loss)

gar

Occupation
EE
130317-0825 EDT

The following is not a direct answer for your question.

In my opinion there are numerous questions to ask in sizing a residential backup generator. Some are:

1. What is the purpose?