Table 310.15(B)(16). Which column?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lbrown73

I maintain when selecting the correct ampacity for circuits, article 110.14(C)(1)(a)(1)must be used and says anything under 100 amps needs to be taken from the 60 degree C column and you must use that column. My colleagues want to use the 75 degree C column. I work in a factory and am having a "discussion" on this with my fellow sparky's. Where do you come down on this? lbrown73.

texie

Occupation
Electrician, Contractor, Inspector
I maintain when selecting the correct ampacity for circuits, article 110.14(C)(1)(a)(1)must be used and says anything under 100 amps needs to be taken from the 60 degree C column and you must use that column. My colleagues want to use the 75 degree C column. I work in a factory and am having a "discussion" on this with my fellow sparky's. Where do you come down on this? lbrown73.

You are correct to a point. What you are missing is that 110.14(C)(1)(a)(3) says "conductors with higher temperature ratings if the equipment is listed and identifiedfor use with such conductors". The reality today is that almost all devices today are rated 75 degree.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Depends somewhat on what you are calculating.
For derating purposed, such as conduit fill, you can use the column based on your conductor insulation.
110.14 limits the termination temperature.
Note that in everyday situations, 110.14(C)(1)(a)(3) normally applies in that many devices with an ampacity 100 amps or less are listed for 75?

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
As stated most modern equipment has 75? C terminations meaning that you can use the 75? ampacity. The one caveat is if your using a cable that must be used at it's 60? C ampacity like NM cable.

hurk27