Class 1 Division 2 seal of requirments as related to explosion proof enclosures

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vance G

I have a 30amp explosion proof disconnect (enclosure) for my class1 division 2 HVAC equipment. The HVAC equipment has a sealed off explosion proof enclosure that contains all the spark causing components. There is less than 18" between the (2) enclosures. I have always chosen to error on the side of safety and use a seal off at both enclosures. But I have been told by our Electrical manager (I'm an HVAC manager) that it is allowable to use the single seal off at the HVAC and run 16" of seal tite to the top of the 30amp disconnect. I have nothing but 25 years of industrial HVAC experience and what I think is an accurate understanding of NFPA 496. Would someone please help me put this to rest once in for all? I need a clear conscience so I can ship this building.
Thanks in advace for anyones help,
Vance

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
Being familiar with NFPA 496 is fine but it doesn?t appear to apply in this case. Familiarity with NEC Sections 501.15(A) & (B) would seem to be more useful.

Your colleague appears to be referring to Subsection 501.15(A)(3). While this is actually a Division 1 reference, it would also apply in Division 2. See the cross reference to 501.15(A)(3) in Subsection 501.15(B)(1); however, also note the phrase that all wiring methods between the seals in this application must be suitable for Division 1 wiring methods by the reference to 501.10(A).

In other words, one seal may be acceptable but ?seal-tite? would not be in this particular application.

Vance G