Do you trust your smart meter's remote shut off feature?

Status
Not open for further replies.

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician
We got smart meters a few months ago. Prior to the installation, we were notified. I had some questions so I called customer service. I explained that I was an electrician and had some questions about the features of the meter and the information displayed.

One thing I was told was that they could shut the power off at my house (or anyone's with a smart meter) just by me calling them on the phone. That way, if I had a project to do that I should do with the power off, I wouldn't have to wait for a linesman to come and pull the meter. The same goes for when I am done. I just call them up and they turn the power on in an instant.

But.....I just get the creeps thinking about working downstream from a wireless remote control disconnect that I have no actual control over.

Call me chicken, but if I need the meter pulled to work on the main, it's getting pulled whether it's turned off or not. Here is the dig, though.....when you pull the meter, it stops talking to the POCO and they will send someone out.......that will probably not be happy when they see thier meter on the ground.

Have any of you trusted the POCOs internal meter disconnect? Or do you pull the meter for safety anyway? If so, does the POCO have a hissy fit?

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
We got smart meters a few months ago. Prior to the installation, we were notified. I had some questions so I called customer service. I explained that I was an electrician and had some questions about the features of the meter and the information displayed.