Not an NEC Issue but.......FYI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cavie

How many are aware of "Longshoreman's workmans comp insurance requirements??? It is a Federal Mandated Program. It's been on the books for some time here in Florida but most govenments have not required it. That has changed. It is now being inforced by local departments in SW Florida. The short version is..........Once you step over the seawall and onto any dock to do work over any navigable water, on any dock or any boat, you must have LS insurance. This includes private docks as well. Your normal workmans comp does not apply. Your workmans comp exemption forms also do not apply. There is no exemption. I'm told at this time min premiums start at $13,000.00 per year. A printed flyer form Charlotte Couty Fl Building Department states $10,000.00 fine and 1 year in jail. Anybody eles run into this.

Cavie

I've been researching this for about 2 months and had a 1 hour conversation with the local building official over the phone on this matter. He is very much against it but his hands are tied. This will cause much unlicensed and unpermitted activity. My company will not be working on any dock in the future. We do alot of dock work being as we work on a barrier island but we don't fell we do enough to cover $13,000.00 before making a profit from it. I'm hoping that once it kicks in in the area, the price will come down do to compitition. I do I tell my customers I cannot afford to install thier Snook light on the dock or fix the GFI??? I can wire your multi million $ house but can't wire your $2000,00 boat lift???? Looks like a good nich market for a while would be dock work only.:?:rant:

iwire

Staff member
That was how I saw it as we'll, the company does so little work on those types of jobs it would not be worth it to get the coverage.

John120/240