Organizing and Protecting Blueprints On the job.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an electrician for 18 years. I just started running a little surgical center job. My apprentice and I built a small print table out of wood. I keep getting new sets of prints as changes are approved. My question is what is the most efficient way to protect and organize the prints. On good idea I just recently learned is to fold duct tape around the edges of the prints and that keeps them from getting torn. I'm a little new at management and any advice in this area would be appreciated as far as organizing things and delegating work planning tasks.

btharmy

For larger, engineered projects with large sets of drawings, I don't let them leave the print table. On smaller remodels where a guy is typically carrying them around, I NEVER fold them. The creases just wear out and encourage holes and tearing. Duct tape folded over the edges does help to prevent tearing. I will typically do this to a copy of a single page or two that I send out with a couple guys to work off of away from the print table. Between rolling and taping, they tend to last longer. Keep them dry and as clean as possible. Only make changes in pencil. Lock them up for the night as well. I learned this the hard way when a customer walked the job after hours and decided to mark up my drawings with a sharpie. What a tool.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
I have covered them with clear contact paper...sometimes making them two sided with the power on side and special systems on the other side.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
... On good idea I just recently learned is to fold duct tape around the edges of the prints and that keeps them from getting torn. ...

... Duct tape folded over the edges does help to prevent tearing. ...
Get clear packing tape and a dispenser, and do back side or back and front. Much easier than folding duct tape.

tape-dispenser-tape-gun.jpg