Breaker size for absorption chiller

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rio

Hi all,

Before I proceed let me reassure that I will not be designing anything neither will I be doing any installation. This is purely for my own understanding more over its an assignment. I work as an internee. I know this forum is primarily for North American Standard and I am following IEE 16th edition so I apologize in advance but I am hoping to get some sort of guidance from the experienced members. Details are as follows;

240Ton Absorption Chiller (Thermax)
1. Power Supply = 415V/50Hz/3Phase
2. Absorbent Pump KW(A) = 1.5 (5.0)
3. Refrigerant Pump KW(A) = 0.3(1.4)
4. Purge Pump KW(A) = 0.75(1.8)
5. Efficiency = 0.85 ( Given by my supervisor)
6. Ambient temperature = 50 degree C
7. Chiller and the panel are both located in the basement. Distance from the panel to the chiller 20m. Cable will be installed in a conduit.
Total power consumption KVA = 6.9

Here is my calculation

KVA to KW = 5.52

Equipment rated/design current Ib = 5520/1.732x415x0.85

Ib = 9.03A

I have selected an MCCB rated at 10A. Is it right? I am slightly confused. Should I consider the inrush current ? I could not find any detail regarding the inrush current from the chiller catalog I have.

Now for the cable size as per IEE 16th edition

Iz(rated capacity of installed cable) = current rating of mccb/temperature factor. At 50 degree C we have derating factor as 0.70

Iz = 10/0.70 = 14.28A

According to the table I have 2.5sqmm cable has a current carrying capacity of 20A. So I have selected a 2.5sqmm cable.

Now for voltage drop,

Vd = (mv/A/m x rated current of equipment x distance)/1000
Vd = (15x9.03x20)/1000 = 2.709V

Allowable voltage drop is 2.5% of 415 which is 10.375V

Are my calculations right? Any help would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance

Regards,

topgone

Hi all,