Service - SE cable entering house under the meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mesh

I've never used SE cable on a 200A service before. I'd like to start using it since many customers are OK with it and that's what all the other ECs in my area are using.

My only concern is bending the thick 4/0 SE cable into the house. When coming out of the bottom of the meter, you need to make a 90 degree bend to turn into the house, and that seems like it might be a big and ugly sweep of cable. I'm also curious what you do to make sure that the cable doesn't chafe on the inside of the hole.

Suggestions and recommendations are appreciated.

Gregg Harris

Occupation
Electrical,HVAC, Technical Trainer
I've never used SE cable on a 200A service before. I'd like to start using it since many customers are OK with it and that's what all the other ECs in my area are using.

My only concern is bending the thick 4/0 SE cable into the house. When coming out of the bottom of the meter, you need to make a 90 degree bend to turn into the house, and that seems like it might be a big and ugly sweep of cable. I'm also curious what you do to make sure that the cable doesn't chafe on the inside of the hole.

Suggestions and recommendations are appreciated.

You can enter at an angle less than 90 if that makes sense.

338.24 Bending Radius. Bends in Types USE and SE cable shall be so made that the cable will not be damaged. The radius of the curve of the inner edge of any bend, during or after installation, shall not be less than five times the diameter of the cable.

liquidtite

You can enter at an angle less than 90 if that makes sense.

338.24 Bending Radius. Bends in Types USE and SE cable shall be so made that the cable will not be damaged. The radius of the curve of the inner edge of any bend, during or after installation, shall not be less than five times the diameter of the cable.
or pipe out of meter and lb into exterior wall so ser cable is protected

liquidtite