electrical upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

raiderUM

Guys,

We are doing an electrical upgrade for one of our existing buildings and this involves us moving from 4160V to 12470V primary.

The proposed design is attached. View attachment photo.pdf

We have the been metering the 208V and I have 4 years of historic data showing the 208V, which is also attached. View attachment load.pdf

Why would the engineer want to back feed the existing gear out of the new gear and have such a large transformer for the 208V? The 208V load for the entire building averages 107KW and has a peak of 303KW. A 750KVA transformer is much larger then we need.

Why would he not want to use the spare 300KVA 12.47V/208V pad mount transformer that we have from a previous job?

Based on the load profile could we not size the transformer and gear to the historic data of the building?

I am no electrical engineer.....I am just trying to understand where he is coming from

big picture

big picture

Could you take a bigger photograph of the diagram please? Id like to see the big picture (literally) before I try to analyze. My first guess would be backdoor spare, in case you guys decide to add equipment in the future. But I can't see all of the loads so that's only a guess.

hurk27