Conduit Isolation

Status
Not open for further replies.

JGB1966

I'm hoping someone can help me with code references for the following question.

First of all I am a controls contractor working with low voltage systems.
I have a customer that has expressed the desire to install ALL conduit isolated from the supports. They can not adequately explain WHY, but are hinking to electrical noise induced in their control circuits. I think its ridiculous. Based on my past experience I would think if the conduits are isolated from the support it would only allow for more electrical noise, even if they are bonded at one or both ends.

Can anyone point me toward the section in the code that addressees this ?

Thank you in advance.

Justin

petersonra

Occupation
engineer

I have a customer that has expressed the desire to install ALL conduit isolated from the supports. They can not adequately explain WHY, but are hinking to electrical noise induced in their control circuits. I think its ridiculous. Based on my past experience I would think if the conduits are isolated from the support it would only allow for more electrical noise, even if they are bonded at one or both ends.

Thank you in advance.

Justin

I don't have a problem with it. Estimate what the adder will be and present him with that for his signature.

Strathead

Occupation
Electrician/Estimator/Project Manager/Superintendent

Thank you in advance.

Justin
Apparently ActionDave understands what you mean. For me, please enlighten me. What do you mean isolated from supports? what is isolated and what supports are you referring to? How do you isolate from these supports?

marti smith

250.4 and 250.104 for starters. You could use rubber covered pipe clamps or pvc if it's allowed in your application.

iwire

Staff member

Thank you in advance.

Justin

There is no code rule to give you, you can electrically isolate the conduits from the supports.

Any chance your customer is the govt. or a contractor for the govt.?