NM Cable or conduit for feeders on 80 unit apartment complex?

Status
Not open for further replies.

storeytime

I'm a commercial contractor. I've never done an apartment complex but am thinking about bidding on one that caters to senior citizens. Branch wiring is specced for NM cable. Each unit has a 150A panel, fed from mechanical rooms via the hall way plenum throughout the complex. Would you use cable for
the feeders or would it be more cost efficient to use conduit and THHN? I'm thinking I won't even be close if I use conduit, even PVC.

JDBrown

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Do they even make NM cable that big? I'm no Contractor, so I don't really spend time at Electrical supply houses, but I've never heard of NM larger than #2/3 (someone please correct me if I'm wrong).

You have to use the 60 deg. column of Table 310.16 to determine the ampacity of NM cable (see NEC 334.80), so you're going to need a minimum of #2/0 CU or #3/0 AL for 150A feeders, even if you take advantage of 240.3(B). We don't do a lot of residential, but when we do we use EMT with THHN wiring for feeders that size. Then again, part of the reason we don't do much residential is because we're a little more expensive than most Engineers in the area. Perhaps someone else can suggest a cheaper but still acceptable alternative.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Can SE cable be installed above a hung ceiling?
I didn't see anything about a hung ceiling? I see he mentioned a plenum in the hall area but that would need to be avoided.

As far as I can tell SE cable can be installed above a dropped ceiling

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
I didn't see anything about a hung ceiling? I see he mentioned a plenum in the hall area but that would need to be avoided.
It sounds like the design specifically calls for use of the hallway overhead space.