Free standing spa tub wiring??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ljgale

Hey fellas, my name is Luke. I have been working as an electricians helper for 4 years now and going to school. My boss and I have a question. We are working on a new home and have to wire a spa tub unlike any we have seen before. The motor is 15amps and is already has a 3 prong plug just like any othe appliance.

Plan is- new 15amp GFCI breaker from panel. Through crawl space to tub location. Up through subfloor and then to a receptacle. Bam, tub plugs in.

But, what I do not know is this...

1. Does it need a switch within sight of the tub, ie: the nearest wall?
2. There is room under the tub for me to mount a 2x4 on edge so the receptacle faces out instead if up....good or bad idea?
3. The wall behind the tub is a log wall so no outlets there....it has to be under the tub.
4. The tub is light, maybe 50lbs, it is a finished product 360 degrees around and has a flex drain hose, so I am assuming that maintenance for the motor would be to simply drain the tub and lift it/prop it up. Is this acceptable as an "access panel"???
5. What kind of box? Exterior grade?, exterior wire?
The tub came with absolutely no instruction, owner bought it off eBay and it came in a crate with nothing else.

This county has adopted 2011NEC

HELP!!!!

Thanks, Luke image.jpg image.jpg

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Is this a hydromassage tub? Or does water stay in the tub and get treated?

The only disconnect that is required is taken care of by plugging it in. The outlet is the disconnect. The gfci cannot be under the tub but must be in a readily accessible location. We use dead front gfci's so we avoid a gfci under the tub-- I am assuming a 120V unit not 240V

Ljgale