200 amp sub panel from 200 amp main (seperate building)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MidgetD

I work as a journeyman electrician but do not poses a residential license. However, I am allowed in my state to perform my OWN electrical work. I just built a metal building and need to run power to it.

I am planning to remove my current 200 amp (30 slot ) panel from my home and replace it with a 42 slot 200 amp panel with feed thru lugs ( lugs at bottom protected by man breaker).

I can then use my old panel in my shop as a sub panel.

I plan to run 4/0 4/0 2/0 USE wire. I will have a ground rod at the panel as well as each corner to bond the steel building. Do I have to run an equipment ground? Im unsure about that.

My other question concerns whether a seperate building is required to have a dedicated disconnect or will the homes main breaker serve the purpose.

Alternate plan would include buying a 150 amp breaker (plug in ), 150 amp main for old panel and a new 200 amp panel for the home and 2/0 aluminum wire.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
You will need a disconnecting means at the separate building. 225.32. I don't think you will have documented safe switching procedures, so I don't think you can take credit for its Exception 1. Even if you could, I don't think you would want to turn off the entire house, in order to do work on the panel in the shop.

You can only use your existing panel if it is service rated. 225.36. But given that it is presently used as your home's service panel, I don't think that will be an issue.

You will need an EGC. 250.32(B).

I don't see the purpose of putting ground rods around the building.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Allow me to suggest an alternative that might be worth thinking about.