bonding of the ground and neutral at more then one point

Status
Not open for further replies.
so im still fairly new to the electrical trade since the end of 2011 and theres a lot im still learning and wanting to learn but my question is about the bonding of the neutral and ground in the electrical service. now ive been under the impression you only make this bond once in the service unless down the line a separately derived power source is installed. for example a transformer but other then that im clueless and ive looked it up in the code and the best article I could find was 250.24 in the 2011 nec. but it still didn't really answer my question on if u can make that bond more then once in one service? so I thought u guys could help me out with an answer and maybe a code reference if possible?

LEO2854

Esteemed Member
so im still fairly new to the electrical trade since the end of 2011 and theres a lot im still learning and wanting to learn but my question is about the bonding of the neutral and ground in the electrical service. now ive been under the impression you only make this bond once in the service unless down the line a separately derived power source is installed. for example a transformer but other then that im clueless and ive looked it up in the code and the best article I could find was 250.24 in the 2011 nec. but it still didn't really answer my question on if u can make that bond more then once in one service? so I thought u guys could help me out with an answer and maybe a code reference if possible?
Hello...:)

Welcome to the forum and the electrical trade...:thumbsup:

250.24(A)(1) ..means that you are bonding your neutral and your grounding conductors at the service disconnect,your neutral must not be grounded anywhere else otherwise fault current will not trip the main disconnect or any of the other circuit breakers or fuses in the main panel.