Gauge Wire Calcuation for 1.5KW device

Status
Not open for further replies.

goodoboy

Hello, happy to be here. I am a bit new to electrical study and been awhile since study.

I need to calculate the gauge wire for a a 120V 1 phase, 1.5kW device.

Details:
12.5 amps load
Ambient temp here is 104
insulation: RHW
copper wire
I am using table 310.15(B)(16)

I decide 14AWG rated for 20amps will work. After ambient correction 310.15(B)(2) my rated current becomes 17.6amps (.88 x 20).

Now I use 240.4(D) to determine if my circuit breaker limitation, correct?

I see that for 14AWG, I can use a 15amp circuit breaker to protect 14AWG rated at 17.6 amps.

Questions:

1. Did I perform the above corrections correct?
2. Did I use 240.4(D) correct?
3. What if I only have a 20amp circuit breaker, do I have use 12AWG? But if I use 12AWG, this will not protect my 17.6amps wire because 12AWG requires circuit breaker of 20amps.

I am bit confused and want to make sure I am on the right track.

goodoboy

3. What if I only have a 20amp circuit breaker, do I have use 12AWG? But if I use 12AWG, this will not protect my 17.6amps wire because 12AWG requires circuit breaker of 20amps.

Correction: If I use 20amp circuit breaker and 12AWG, I think this will work cause my rated wire current is 22amps (.88 x 25).

I only have 20 amp circuit breaker, so I think 12AWG will get it done and also within guidelines of 240.4(D)

david luchini

Staff member
Occupation
Engineer

Questions:

1. Did I perform the above corrections correct?
2. Did I use 240.4(D) correct?

1) You have the basic calculations correct. You didn't indicate if the 12.5A load was continuous or non-continuous. This may change the overall picture.

2) 240.4(D) tells you that you can't protect #14 with a larger than 15A OCPD unless it falls under 240.4(E) or 240.4(G).