Is it time to hire some help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kyled86

I am a one man EC shop in Southeast Georgia. I do a variety of commercial and residential work including new construction and service work. I have gotten to the point where I cannot stay on the jobsite for having to go out and give estimates and sell other jobs. I have a small 20 room hotel addition starting in a week or so and an addition to a blueberry packing facility starting in approximately a month. I already have a hard time keeping up. What I feel that I need is an experienced individual that can work these larger jobs...under my close supervision of course...while I am pricing other jobs and catching small service jobs. I need someone in place so that I can leave the jobsite when necessary to continue expanding my business. I have been doing electrical work for 10 years but have only been on my own for 3 years. What do you guys think? I feel I am at the point where I have to turn down work or hire help. My goal is to expand at least somewhat.

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
Go for it. Make sure you can meet the obligations that come along with it. Regular payroll. You will need to give up some control and be able to delegate authority along with accepting the changes that may result. If you micromanage, you will be adding stress to both of you. Good luck.

kyled86

Go for it. Make sure you can meet the obligations that come along with it. Regular payroll. You will need to give up some control and be able to delegate authority along with accepting the changes that may result. If you micromanage, you will be adding stress to both of you. Good luck.

Thanks for the advice. At what point did all you guys know it was time to hire help?