GFCI's and current imbalance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eddy Current

I'm studying residential services and in the book i have they are talking about how a GFCI work's. I know the concept but what im not understanding is current imbalances and neutrals, which i know the neutral carries the unbalanced load but i thought that between two phases it would always be the a number divisible by two 240/120 and so on.

In the GFCI chapter they say "If the current in the neutral wire becomes less than load in the hot wire, then a ground fault exists" but earlier in one of the other chapters they are quoted as saying "In a single phase feeder circuit with one phase carrying 50A and the other carrying 40A the neutral conductor would carry 10A.

Eddy Current

I think its in the way they phrased their statement. Isn't the current in the neutral wire always less than the load in the hot wire?

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
I think its in the way they phrased their statement. Isn't the current in the neutral wire always less than the load in the hot wire?
In a 2 wire circuit the neutral current should be equal to the hot, in a multi wire circuit the neutral current should be the difference of the 2 hot conductors, anything else gives you a net imbalance and trips the GFCI. Remember the GFCI is looking for about 5ma imbalance before tripping. An imbalance means the current is finding another path back to the transformer. A Ground Fault, which could be on either the hot or the neutral.

gar

Occupation
EE
130728-0942 EDT

Eddy Current:

I believe that the array of questions you ask are a result of the courses or study materials you are exposed to not being sufficiently directed at basic concepts.