Consulting Fees

Status
Not open for further replies.

JonasBlake

Hi guys,

I am an electrical PE in Virginia, but I have been working for large firms for my whole career. I recently was approached to perform some consulting work. The work itself is well within my capabilities, but this is my first time charging for my time rather than working for a salary.

I was hoping someone could give me some suggestions on how to bill for my work. Is it more common to charge a fixed percentage of the project cost, and if so, what percentage? Or charge per drawing sheet? Or per KW of project size?

Or simply try to guess how long it will take, and charge expected hours times an hourly rate? And if so, what is a good ballpark hourly rate?

I don't want to gouge the client, but I also don't want to waste my time.

I understand that this is a tricky subject to give advice on, but I would appreciate any advice you can give!

Knightryder12

Occupation
Sr. Electrical Designer/Project Manager
Hi guys,

I am an electrical PE in Virginia, but I have been working for large firms for my whole career. I recently was approached to perform some consulting work. The work itself is well within my capabilities, but this is my first time charging for my time rather than working for a salary.

I was hoping someone could give me some suggestions on how to bill for my work. Is it more common to charge a fixed percentage of the project cost, and if so, what percentage? Or charge per drawing sheet? Or per KW of project size?

Or simply try to guess how long it will take, and charge expected hours times an hourly rate? And if so, what is a good ballpark hourly rate?

I understand that this is a tricky subject to give advice on, but I would appreciate any advice you can give!