HRG or NRG Resistance grounding

Status
Not open for further replies.

mbrooke

Batteries Included
Occupation
Technician
Kind of what I suspected. I have no experience with impedance grounded systems, but I do understand the concept of what is being done there. Then my mind got to wandering a little and I figured that one could still connect line to neutral loads and they would work, but if NEC allowed that it would probably want overcurrent protection on the neutral, which introduces other problems if you had a multiwire circuit involved and opened the neutral conductor. You also would need some method of detecting neutral to ground faults otherwise they would just bypass the grounding impedance.

Correct. To many issues that could come up. Even if its low impedance you could still have a phase to neutral fault cause a voltage rise on the non faulted phases and the neutral due to the limitation of fault current. P-N loads will be fried. Neutral could become grounded as well like you mentioned. And if its a high impedance type a phase to ground fault can cause the ground to rise well above the neutral in potential. Up to 277 on a 480 volt system, which would be a major hazard.

D!NNy

Sorry for late response

Yes

Yes

I'm pretty sure you, Jim, and kb already know this - so, just for the rest of us:
Two different design specs between 480V HRG and 13.8kV HRG. OP did not differentiate. I work with both.

Solidly grounded systems generally fail phase to ground first and often don't trip until the fault goes phase to phase. Lots of damage occurs during the phase to ground fault time.
What kind of damage, i thought resistance grounding limits the fault current so there will be no damage and continuous service under fault condition
Ungrounded systems are subject to arcing
In Ungrounded system for single phase to ground faults currents are low and cannot form arc as there is no closed loop for the power or it is dependent on the fault resistance,
re-striking ground faults.