Buried Pet Fence Wire

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK,
So I'm not an electrician and don't know jack about NEC codes, but I'm trying to learn.
I'm a dog trainer and I've also been installing hidden pet fences for last couple years. I'm using PE-rated wire, specifically HWMPE, which I've been told by people smarter than me is the best for this application. So far so good, no issues. However, lately I've had several calls to repair broken systems (not any of the ones I've done) and it looks like most installers are using THHN/THWN wire, which I know is approved for wet-weather, outdoor conditions but evidently not approved for "direct-burial"? Is this correct, and if so can anyone give me some more specific info about how to determine what is and isn't approved for "direct-burial"? And WTF does "raceway" mean? Evidently THHN/THWN is OK for burial if in conduit or "raceway"?
I'm just trying to do right by my customers and provide best quality service and product possible. I spent 2 hrs this morning trying to figure out why a customer with THHN/THWN wire wasn't getting signal- used a good quality Breakfinder but found no breaks at all. They had they're system installed 11 years ago, from my research that's a pretty good lifespan for the wire.

Any advice or suggestions?
Thanks!

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
IMO, the nec doesn't have any say in electric fences and I have not known any electricians who installs them. I would read the manufacturers specs on installation. I would bet that thwn would work just fine in this situation.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I've installed a few systems and found the HWMPE to have a tougher insulation than THWN.
Here's a cut sheet: