Megging Motors?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerjwillelec

I am troubleshooting some vent fans at a grain elevator. 480 volt 2 HP. Some are tripping breakers and some are tripping overloads. I'm new to motor megging so I want to make sure I'm doing it correctly. I have a Fluke 1507. Any tips for me?

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
I am troubleshooting some vent fans at a grain elevator. 480 volt 2 HP. Some are tripping breakers and some are tripping overloads. I'm new to motor megging so I want to make sure I'm doing it correctly. I have a Fluke 1507. Any tips for me?

I would start by doing basic voltage and current measurements.

Overload tripping often means some kind of mechanical overload.

Cb tripping is more likely to be a problem with the motor like a shorted winding.

jerjwillelec

Thank you so far...I'm just wondering what readings I should be getting and what leads I should meg. I've done 1 & 2 & 3 all to ground. Some read > 11 G ohm and some considerably less like 1900 M ohm. CB trips instantly on start up on some. OL trips within seconds on others

zog

Thank you so far...I'm just wondering what readings I should be getting and what leads I should meg. I've done 1 & 2 & 3 all to ground. Some read > 11 G ohm and some considerably less like 1900 M ohm. CB trips instantly on start up on some. OL trips within seconds on others

Plenty of good threads here, also download "A stitch in time" from the megger website.

We can't answer your questions because you didnt say what the motor voltage was, what type of motor it is, what your test voltage was, was the time of the test was, what your DAR/PI readings were, or most important of all when testing motors, if your readings are tempature corrected or not. Temp correction is key for motors and transformers and readings are worthless info without it.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Plenty of good threads here, also download "A stitch in time" from the megger website.